Van Halen - The Unreleased
No Bozos  (1996)
Hard Rock

In Collection

CD    85 tracks  (293:33) 
The Unreleased  (73:30)
   01   Black Star   George Lynch           05:10
   02   All That I Need   George Lynch           03:59
   03   Sleepless Nights   George Lynch           04:21
   04   Believe Me             03:56
   05   Last Child             02:45
   06   Live For The Music             03:08
   07   The Rover             04:18
   08   Sweet Emotion             05:39
   09   Walk This Way             03:23
   10   Still Alive And Well             02:15
   11   Twist And Shout             02:17
   12   30 Days In The Hole             02:32
   13   Instrumental Jam             01:36
   14   Eyes Of The Night             04:21
   15   I Wanna Be Your Lover             03:01
   16   Wild Fire             01:22
   17   (Here's) Just What You Wanted             02:52
   18   No More Waiting             03:31
   19   Young And Wild             02:03
   20   Honolulu Baby             03:13
   21   Don't Call Us, We'll Call You             03:08
   22   Jean Genie             04:40
The Unreleased  (73:15)
   01   Voodoo Queen             03:34
   02   Last Night             03:23
   03   Get The Show On The Road             02:53
   04   Babe Don't Leave Me Alone             02:58
   05   Big Trouble             03:35
   06   She's The Woman             03:02
   07   Put Out The Lights             03:32
   08   Bullet Head             02:30
   09   Down In Flames             05:03
   10   House Of Pain             03:42
   11   Woman In Love             03:25
   12   Rock Steady             05:38
   13   Rock'n'roll Hoochie Coo             07:23
   14   La Grange             06:08
   15   Walk Away             03:36
   16   In For The Kill             05:25
   17   (Bad Women) Peace Of Mind             03:48
   18   Instrumental             03:40
The Unreleased (Disc 3)  (73:03)
   01   Act Like It Hurts             03:31
   02   Bright Lights Big City             02:56
   03   Lucille             02:57
   04   Beer Drinkers And Hell Raisers             02:38
   05   79th And Sunset             01:49
   06   Summertime Blues             03:40
   07   Heartbreak Hotel             02:39
   08   Instrumental             01:52
   09   Growth             02:28
   10   Wild Thing             05:05
   11   Make It Last             03:31
   12   Rock Candy             01:40
   13   Superstition             02:56
   14   It's Only Rock 'n Rool/Woman From Tokyo             01:56
   15   Runnin' With The Devil             02:30
   16   My Generation             02:18
   17   Waiting For The Bus/All Right Now             05:53
   18   Young Man Blues             03:56
   19   Unchained             03:07
   20   Rockin' In The Free World             04:19
   21   Mississippi Queen             04:36
   22   Finish What Ya Started             06:46
The Unreleased  (73:45)
   01   The Ocean             01:36
   02   Communication Breakdown             01:57
   03   Dazed And Confused             05:28
   04   Don't Fight It   Los Tres Gusanos           03:07
   05   Crossroads   Los Tres Gusanos           03:32
   06   Goin' Down   Los Tres Gusanos           04:13
   07   "Fur Elise"             01:15
   08   Eagles Fly             05:00
   09   Drum Solo             01:57
   10   Born On The Bayou             02:18
   11   Outside Woman Blues             02:29
   12   Time's A Waste             01:26
   13   Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay   Los Tres Gusanos           01:32
   14   The Love   Los Tres Gusanos           03:53
   15   One Night   Los Tres Gusanos           02:37
   16   Someday             04:08
   17   Amnesty Is Granted             04:42
   18   Baby What You Want Me To Do             03:25
   19   You Don't Have To Go             01:04
   20   Love Walks In             05:16
   21   Right Now             07:17
   22   Spanish Fly             01:02
   23   Best Of Both Worlds             04:31
Personal Details
Owner Terje Dokken
Cat. Number 3M0101
Packaging Jewel Case
Sound Stereo
Vocals David Lee Roth
Guitar Eddie Van Halen
Bass Michael Anthony
Drums Alex Van Halen
Producer -
Cover art is taken from the Red Vinyl promo Van Halen EP that was issued by Warner Bros. before the first Album came out. You can still see the hole in the middle where you would play the EP on a turntable.
The background image is of a purplish brick pattern. This pattern is evident through the packaging. The discs have this pattern in a reddish tone, and the liner notes have this pattern in a grayish tone.
The back cover reads:
This four CD set was compiled from hundreds of live and studio outtake recordings. The material was digitally transferred from the original master tapes or the lowest generation copies available. The transferred material was then cleaned up using Sonic Solutions NoNoise process which makes these CDs the best sounding of the type to date. It was produced solely for archival purposes. We can be found at various VH locations and gatherings throughout the Internet, and around the world. Just ask around while surfing. "The Unreleased" is a Shaggster production, in conjunction with No Bozos Records and 3M Productions. Special thanks goes out to Mav (the originator), EdHead "The HEADCOUNT Guy", Fletch, Rex Jackson, Gus "no faith" Compson, Corona, and Valerie "vavh" for showing up on the list from time to time. Last, and by no means least, extra thanks to the guys, Eddie, Alex, Michael, Dave, and Sammy, for creating all this fantastic music for us. Peace out.

Mixing and Mastering by Arvid at "5151",
Jan. - Mar. 1996

Production and Distribution by
The Big D

Graphic Design by Brad Starks
The "No Bozos" comes from a t-shirt design present on the RH:RN tour.
Each of the four discs are well labeled, with the Name, Volume Number and Track Listing. They also say "Made in Canada".
The liner notes are well done, frequently stating where a particular track was recorded and other notes about it, when known.
It was confirmed after these discs went to press that the first three tracks on Disc 1 are NOT Van Halen (although there are still some that believe it is). It was found out to be George Lynch's band (before Dokken?). The fact that this is not Van Halen was confirmed by the band themselves.
This four CD set was the creation of many people on the Van Halen Mailing List. It took about 10 months to get the discs pressed, during which time many people became fustrated with the process and made threats against the person in charge of getting them pressed. All was forgiven when the discs finally arrived.
The inital pressing was limited to 500 copies, but rumor has it that the CD pressing plant (or someone involved with the process) has been churning out more sets and that they can be found through "normal" channels. However, the price tag on them is said to be more than 5 times what everyone else paid!
"Arvid" has graciously put together the complete liner notes for this 4-disc set, and has expanded on some of the information.