Dream Theater - Live Scenes From New York
Elektra  (2001)
Progressive Metal

In Collection

CD    26 tracks  (203:45) 
Live Scenes From New York (Cd 02)  (66:31)
   01   One Last Time (Live)             04:11
   02   The Spirit Carries On (Live)             07:40
   03   Finally Free (Live)             10:59
   04   Metropolis: Part 1 (Live)             10:36
   05   The Mirrorv             08:15
   06   Just Let Me Breathe (Live)             04:02
   07   Acid Rain (Live)             02:34
   08   Caught In A New Millennium (Live)             06:21
   09   Another Day (Live)             05:13
   10   Jordan Rudess Keyboard Solo (Live)             06:40
Live Scenes From New York  (59:58)
   01   Regression             02:46
   02   Overture 1928             03:32
   03   Strange Déjà Vu             05:02
   04   Through My Words             01:42
   05   Fatal Tragedy             06:21
   06   Beyond This Life             11:16
   07   John & Theresa Solo Spot             03:17
   08   Through Her Eyes             06:17
   09   Home             13:21
   10   The Dance Of Eternity             06:24
Live Scenes From New York (Disc 3)  (77:16)
   01   I. Erotomania             07:22
   02   Ii. Voices             09:44
   03   Iii. The Silent Man             05:09
   04   Learning To Live             14:01
   05   A Change Of Seasons             27:05
   06   Do Not Rip             13:55
Personal Details
Owner Terje Dokken
Links Amazon US
Amazon UK
Studio Live
Cat. Number 962661-2
UPC (Barcode) 075596266123
Packaging Jewel Case
Sound Stereo
Vocals James LaBrie
Guitar John Petrucci
Drums Mike Portnoy
Bass John Myung
Keyboards Jordan Rudess
Producer Mike Portnoy; John Petrucci
Review by Robert Taylor Unfortunately, this fine live recording will always be remembered for the cover art. Released on September 11, 2001, the original cover displayed a flaming apple wrapped in barbed wire with the skyline of New York engulfed in flames. The band's trademark logo had always been a flaming heart wrapped in barbed wired, but for this recording the apple and skyline were added to reflect that the live concert was held in New York (Roseland Ballroom). The dreadful coincidence was a shock to both the band and record company, prompting an immediate recall. Tragically, this made the original pressings an instant collector's item to those who engage in such feckless activities. The issue received national media attention and the band, mostly comprised of native New Yorkers, issued a sympathetic statement that the recording would be re-released with a new cover. The recording itself is a live version of their prog rock masterpiece, Metropolis Part II: Scenes From a Memory, plus additional live material performed the same evening. The production and sound quality are good and the band's energy is fittingly captured. This same live concert can be seen on the DVD Metropolis 2000: Scenes From New York.